NW Kansas highway one of many named after fallen law enforcement officer

Jackson SchneiderJune 4, 2018

June 4, 2018

Governor Jeff Colyer today held a ceremonial bill signing for Senate Bill No. 375 which renamed several highways after fallen Kansas Highway Patrol Troopers and a Master Deputy from the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office.

The legislation, which will impact 10 highways across the state, combined several efforts passed in the House and Senate to honor various fallen law enforcement officers across Kansas.

“There is no greater sacrifice one can make than to lay down their lives to protect others. Our law enforcement agents put their lives on the line every day to protect and serve their communities knowing full well that they may not make it home” said the Governor. “We will never forget our fallen law enforcement officers. I am pleased to sign this bill to honor those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in order to keep us safe.”

The ceremony took place at the Johnson County Sheriff’s Officer Operations Center in New Century where a new memorial to fallen Sheriff’s Deputies was recently erected as part of an Eagle Scout project.

The full list of new highway designations is included below:

  • Master Trooper Larry L. Huff Memorial Highway, K-15 from the southern city limits of Clay Center south to K-82.
  • Trooper Conroy G. O’Brien Memorial Highway, US-50 from K-61 southwest of Hutchinson to the northwestern city limits of Sylvia.
  • Trooper Jimmie Jacobs Memorial Highway, US-54 from the western city limits of Meade west to the eastern city limits of Plains.
  • Trooper Ferdinand “Bud” Pribbenow Memorial Highway, K-96 from its western junction with I-235 northwest to the eastern city limits of Mount Hope.
  • Master Trooper Dean A. Goodheart Memorial Highway, US-83 from I-70 north to US-24.
  • Trooper John McMurray Memorial Highway, K-18 from I-70 northeast to the western city limits of Manhattan.
  • Trooper Maurice R. Plummer Memorial Highway, US-24 from US-59 north to Williamstown, then southeast to US-40 north of Lawrence.
  • Lieutenant Bernard C. Hill Memorial Highway, US-59 from US-56 north to the southern city limits of Lawrence.
  • Trooper James D. Thornton Memorial Highway, US-81 from US-166 north to the Sedgwick County line.
  • Master Deputy Brandon Collins Memorial Highway, US-69 in Johnson County from 167th Street to 215th Street.



3 members of alleged “carnival mafia...

December 10, 2018 1:43 pm




RADIO AUCTION: 2021 Sale ...
May 14, 2021Comments
TECH TALK: NWKTC Presiden...
May 13, 2021Comments
HEALTH TALK: National Nur...
May 12, 2021Comments
May 7, 2021Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2021 - EEO  - KRDQ  - KXXX  - KLOE  - KKCI  - KWGB