New President selected at Northwest Tech in Goodland

andy lambertMarch 1, 2016

Mr. Benjamin Schears, Arkansas City, KS, has been selected as the new President of Northwest Kansas Technical College. Mr. Schears comes to the college as a native Kansan with many years of experience at the two-year college level. Schears received a Vocational Certificate from Flint Hills Technical College and an Associate of Arts degree from Cowley County Community College. He received both his Bachelor of Science and Master of Arts degrees from Emporia State University. He is currently engaged in pursuing a doctorial degree at Baker University.

Northwest Tech Board of Control President, Frank Otter, said, “I am thrilled to welcome Mr. Benjamin Schears as our new President. He comes to us with tremendous energy and deep passion for technical education, and he also has a love for athletics. We are pleased to welcome Mr. Schears to lead our great college.”

Schears has worked for Cowley County Community College since 2003 in a number of capacities including admissions, instruction, fundraising, and administration. He is currently the Vice President for Institutional Advancement.

Schears stated, “My family and I are thrilled to join the team at Northwest Tech, and look forward to becoming engaged members of the Goodland community and service area. Having grown up on a farm and raising our family out in the country, we hold a deep appreciation for rural life and the incredible contributions the people of the western part of our great state make to Kansas. We look forward to building relationships, both existing and new, for the advancement of Northwest Tech and the region.”

Schears will officially begin his duties as President on July 1, 2016.




3 members of alleged “carnival mafia...

December 10, 2018 1:43 pm




NW Kansas District Free F...
July 31, 2020Comments
TECH TALK: Northwest Tech...
July 30, 2020Comments
School Spotlight: Goodlan...
July 17, 2020Comments
President Dennis Wright &...
July 13, 2020Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2020 - EEO  - KRDQ  - KXXX  - KLOE  - KKCI  - KWGB