All-GWAC Basketball Team Announced

Ross VolkmerMarch 17, 2020

The All-GWAC basketball teams were released late last week. Seven girls and six boys from Colby & Goodland combined were named to either the first, second or honorable mentioned teams.

After being named a second teamer last season Goodland senior Taighe Weeter was named to the first team as was Colby’s Jill Stephens & Hallie Vaughn, both who are seniors. Goodland’s freshman Talexa Weeter was the lone area athlete named to the second team.

Sophomore Brooklyn Jones & junior Kennedy Stanley from Colby were named to the honorable mention team as was Goodland sophomore Emma Lehman.

As for the boys, no one from Colby or Goodland made the first team but the second team had three of the five spots taken up by northwest Kansas athletes. Colby’s senior Calvin Stapp & junior Peyton Wahlmeier were on the second squad as was Goodland senior Henry Cole.

Goodland junior Brennan Brumbaugh was named an honorable mention as was Colby junior Ryan Meyers & senior Jaden Siruta.

In more high school hoops news, it was also released on Monday that Colby head boys basketball coach Parker McKee was named one of six finalist in the 3A classification for coach of the year from Sports in Kansas. McKee led CHS to a 16-7 record and trip to state in his first season at Colby.

The compete All-GWAC teams are below.

First Team
Jill Stephens – Colby

Hallie Vaughn – Colby

Taighe Weeter – Goodland

Mikyn Hamlin – Hugoton

Emily Weathers – Scott City

Second Team
Talexa Weeter – Goodland

Madi Ruda – Holcomb

Jordyn Beard – Hugoton

Gianna Vos – Hugoton;

Brynn McCormick – Scott City

Lyndi Rumford – Scott City

Honorable Mention
Brooklyn Jones – Colby

Kennedy Stanley – Colby

Emma Lehman – Goodland

Nicole Ruda – Holcomb

McKenna Hamlin – Hugoton

First Team
Jackson Stoppel – Holcomb

Wyatt Angell – Hugoton

Sawyer Harper – Hugoton;

Hunter Yager – Scott City

Lance Walker – Ulysses

Second Team
Calvin Stapp – Colby

Peyton Wahlmeier

Henry Cole – Goodland

Zephyn Mason –  Holcomb

Jayce Korf – Hugoton

Honorable Mention
Ryan Myers – Colby

Jaden Siruta – Colby

Brennan Brumbaugh – Goodland

Haden Daharsh – Hugoton;

Parker Gooden – Scott City

Aaron Galindo – Ulysses







RADIO AUCTION: 2021 Sale ...
May 14, 2021Comments
TECH TALK: NWKTC Presiden...
May 13, 2021Comments
HEALTH TALK: National Nur...
May 12, 2021Comments
May 7, 2021Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2021 - EEO  - KRDQ  - KXXX  - KLOE  - KKCI  - KWGB