2019 grant award recipients for the Federal Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) program include multiple Western Kansas agencies

Jackson SchneiderFebruary 20, 2019

Governor Laura Kelly, on behalf of the Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (KCJCC), is pleased to announce the 2019 grant awards for the Federal Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) program. The grant program is a partnership among federal, state and local governments to create safer communities and improve criminal justice systems.

“I’m pleased to announce these important grants available to improve the safety of Kansas communities and families,” said Kelly. “Our law enforcement offices, nonprofits and community health organizations do much to keep our citizens safe. I commend them for their work and look forward to continuing to partner with them to improve many aspects of our criminal justice system.”

The JAG program provides funds to criminal justice system partners in addressing crime and improving public safety. The KCJCC established four primary areas for distributing these funds that include; reducing recidivism, improving law enforcement technology and officer safety, improving victim services and supporting projects that enhance the functionality of the Kansas criminal justice information system.

The Governor also announced the Federal Residential Substance Abuse Treatment of State Prisoners Grant Program (RSAT) grant award. The Kansas Department of Corrections was awarded $119,046 by the KCJCC.  The funds are used for treatment of adult inmates.

The KCJCC also awarded the Kansas Bureau of Investigation $716,746 from the Federal National Criminal History Improvement Program (NCHIP) grant program.  The goal of the program is to improve the quality of the criminal history record information in support of background check systems.

The Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (KCJCC) oversees the criminal justice federal funding made available to Kansas through the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Assistance. The KCJCC is representative of the Governor, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Attorney General, the Secretary of Corrections, the Superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol, and the Director of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

A total of $3,283,907 was awarded to 41 agencies.

2019 JAG recipients are:

Brown County                      Brown County Sheriff’s Office                        $ 45,050

Horton Police Department                              $ 31,383

Kickapoo Tribal Police                                      $ 25,892

Crawford County                 Crawford County Sheriff’s Department         $ 82,262

Ellis County                     Northwest Kansas Community Corrections    $ 80,087

Harvey County                     Newton Police Department                              $ 48,124

Jackson County                    Jackson County Sheriff’s Office                      $ 70,623

Prairie Band Potawatomi Tribal Police         $174,330

Johnson County                   Gardner Police Department                             $ 16,880

Johnson County Mental Health                       $ 68,414

Merriam Police Department                             $ 66,000

One Heart Project                                               $213,318

Kingman County                  Kingman County Sheriff’s Office                     $ 69,023

Leavenworth County           Brothers In Blue Reentry                                  $140,107

Lansing Police Department                              $ 46,686

Lyon County                          5th Judicial District Community Corrections   $ 41,434

SOS                                                                         $ 42,785

Marshall                                 Marysville Police Department                          $ 50,244

Miami County                       Miami County Sheriff’s Office                          $ 63,424

Mitchell County                    Mitchell County Sheriff’s Office                       $ 25,304

Montgomery County            Cherryvale Police Department                         $ 89,436

Coffeyville Police Department                          $ 62,655

Norton County                 Norton Police Department                        $ 48,881

Pottawatomie County          Pottawatomie County Sheriff’s Department   $ 45,297

Rawlins County               Rawlins County Sheriff’s Office               $ 87,780

Reno County                          Hutchinson Police Department                         $ 15,765

Reno County Community Corrections             $113,938

Republic County                    Republic County Sheriff’s Department            $ 49,705

Rice County                            Lyons Police Department                                    $ 24,140

Saline County                         28th Judicial District Community Corrections $ 66,205

City of Salina Police Department                        $ 73,380

Scott County                      Western Kansas Child Advocacy Center   $146,582

Sedgwick County                   City of Wichita Police Department                      $224,850

Episcopal Social Services                                      $ 63,771

Step Stone                                                                 $ 39,725

Via Christi Hospitals Wichita                               $173,991

Shawnee County                    Kansas Department of Corrections

Victim Services                                                         $191,982

Kansas Department of Corrections                      $ 87,092

Kansas Highway Patrol                                           $ 69,336

Wyandotte County                 Avenue of Life                                                           $169,971






RADIO AUCTION: 2021 Sale ...
May 14, 2021Comments
TECH TALK: NWKTC Presiden...
May 13, 2021Comments
HEALTH TALK: National Nur...
May 12, 2021Comments
May 7, 2021Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2021 - EEO  - KRDQ  - KXXX  - KLOE  - KKCI  - KWGB